The proof is in the Flowers not the Pudding

rtulip2

 

I am hardly the Zen master. I do not have the time to sit, ponder and hum to myself. Though I wouldn’t turn it down for a few minutes of peace. I had a profound moment planting my daisies, snapdragon and tulips.

After college a few buddies and I started a landscape company to be an additional services to the pest company that was already up and running. We were strictly a commercial landscape company. The part I really loved about the landscaping side of the business was the planting of the flowers. I think it was interesting depending on the shade, soil, water availability, and so on, that decided what flowers you put with other flowers.

I was racing the clock. The forecast had mentioned rain and I had wanted to get in my flowers to reap the benefits of the rain. I had to work and in fact I enlisted several kids in the family to help in the process. I chose my flowers and had laid them out to see how they looked together. I asked for feedback and after the positive feedback I made the appropriate changes. Next came the tough part, the work. I had to plant those pansies, snapdragons, and tulips. I had planted tulip before and told my 6 and 2 yr old to plant them with the pointy side down. I proceeded to plant, fertilize and pine straw all of the flowers. I was happy and tired to see the my had work done. As I was cleaning up I noticed that I had planted the tulip upside down. That meant that if I wanted to have 120 tulips come up in the spring I had to go back and change the tulip to point up not down. They may have still flowered but after all of my work I was not going to take that chance.

So you ask where was my Zen moment.

Patience young padawan (Jedi).

I had to go back and try to find all of the tulip. I found many but not all of them. I did find several not adequately covered. I did run into obstacles in the form of a snake under a rock I was moving to about bulbs. I tried to catch him but he got away under the pinestraw. I was a little more careful after that.

The Zen moment after I was proudly surveying the beds all nicely snug and prepared for the rain.

In the end all it took to have flowers was 6 flats of flowers, 120 tulip bulbs, 4 bale of pine straw and a lot of work. The key part was the work. If I would have purchased the flowers, fertilizer and pinestraw and kept it in my garage nothing would have happened. Any one thing by itself did not make the project work. The work brought all of the different aspects together and let them work.

I ran into obstacles in the fact I put my tulips in upside down. I broke my spade handle and had to just use the metal stub only to dig the holes. Don’t forget the snake. At any point I could have stopped and could have had an excuse but that doesn’t bring the flowers.

All of this work is great but there will be additional work  to do in the form of weeding, a little watering and more fertilizer but the end product will be worth it.

It all came down to the work and the proof will be in the flowers all winter and spring. The same goes for your networking, job search or other goals.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The proof is in the Flowers not the Pudding

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

