Nobody loves you like Mom

I tell my kids all the time I am not your Mom. I am not going to pick up your clothes, books, dirty dishes or what ever noun you want to put in the open space. My wife tells them that she is not their maid. I asked my kids after dinner when they left the table who they planned on clearing their plates and silverware. They replied they wanted me to do it.  Nope. As Dana Carvey said for George Bush on SNL “Not gonna do it”. 

I told them, you are required to do the things that you are capable to do.

I love to help people. I think service is a great thing in life.  As a boy scout leader I often admonished the scouts to see who they could help for the day.

People often are like water, they like to follow the path of least resistance. I had a person call me and said that no one has called him back about his resumé or anything.  I asked if he had followed up with the recruiter and he said no. “Well, why not” I thought.

It is easier to call a recruiter once or maybe twice or send in 50 resume to positions on the job boards and cross their fingers than for a person to go find themselves a job.

I think Self Helps books are great. I have been to a seminar by wonderfully pontificating sales professionals. Hint they cannot sell for you. Just going to the seminar does nothing but lose you money. You have to put the actions in place to achieve your goal. In the end the work is all that matters. 

Are you doing the work necessary to succeed? I didn’t say work harder, faster, stronger as they all have drawbacks. Are you doing what it takes to succeed?

I like to do landscaping. Sometimes when I go too fast I can see that there are changes that need to be made and in the end it costs me more time. I can dig holes in my yard to put in irrigation but if I paid $100 for a Ditch witch I can to it in 1/10 th of the time.  But if I rented the Ditch witch and waited for someone to come by and out of the goodness of their heart dig up my backyard for 4-5 hours I think I would  be waiting a while. I have a higher likelihood that my kids will clean their rooms on their own. As if that ever happens

If you can see the plan, execute it. Do it.

Nike had it right when they said “Just Do it.”

If I really cared about losing weight I wouldn’t have had two  ice cream cones at Jason’s Deli now would I. Probably not. Not that I would anyway :).

If I really cared about my kids I would teach them how to do things for themselves. I remember a saying from the wresting room in highschool. “Opportunity is when luck meets preparation.”

I read a book on leadership and watched the movie Invictus. Both had the same poem by William Ernest Henley.

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

I love the last two lines. Think about them, ponder them. Now get out there and Achieve it.

6 thoughts on “Nobody loves you like Mom

  1. First of all–I love your title!
    Second–I think you are right on with your thoughts. Good intentions alone just don’t make it.
    Third–did you like the movie Invictus? I just finished reading the book and it was incredible!

  2. Try the book–it is YOUR kind of book. It is all about how Nelson Mandella first won his own private battle, then won over his jailers, then the warden, then the head of the government, then the opposition, then all of South Africa. I found it inspiring.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

