Money Part Duex

Yesterday morning I received a call from my friend about the outcome of his conversation with his Manager over the proposed salary for his promotion. In a previous blog, I talked about a friend of mine who needed some advice about when and how to talk about salary.

Let me back up a bit and explain how he proceeded. 

My friend, we can call “Chuck” called the Manager the following day and discussed with him his concerns and thoughts on the proposed range of the salary. I think waiting for twenty-four hours after the interview to discuss salary or money, is important because if the Manager is excited about your candidacy, I like them to think about you in their position over the last 24 hours. Nothing ruins a good interview like calling up right after and asking about money, salary, vacation, and benefits. 

 The Manager asked my friend to put  his thoughts down into an email and send them to him. Chuck and I talked and decided that there were three key issues that he needed to address. I advised him to write the email in the following manner.

1. Thank the Manager for the opportunity and reiterate Chuck’s interest in the position.

2. Restate that the Manager wanted him to write his concerns in an email.

3. State with quantifiable facts for his 3 concerns and be very concise.

4. Talk about the opportunity and thank the Manager for taking the time to listen to his concerns.

(Side note: one of the reasons I left my previous company to come to MATRIX was the way they handled my and my wifes concern about the new opportunity.  Concerns can be a huge win win if handled properly.)

Tha Manager emailed the reply and went through each concern and qualified each one. In the end, the company chose not to negotiate the salary but the Manager did state that he thought that Chuck had handled himself well and thought even better about bringing him onto the team.

That sounds like a win to me.

I did receive some great negotiation steps after my last blog post. Here are some helpful and simple steps from Jennifer Kushell, President of www.youngandsuccessful.com “In any negotiation, think in terms of stages: courting, conceptualizing relationship, key deal terms, papering deal, tweaking” for simple yet effective advice.

Great advice Jennifer.  Thanks.

Let me know if anyone else has some other thoughts. Good luck.

Matt Cheek

One thought on “Money Part Duex

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

