What your friends and mom won’t tell you? Part 1

Today, we are going to talk as friends not as deep friends who know each others thoughts but as friends who are strong enough to tell you the truth without you getting offended. It is time to get to change. I know change is scary but as your friend I think it is time to do an intervention. I am willing at the sake of our friendship tell you what your other friends and even your mom won’t discuss.

If you want to be viewed as a professional it is time to start acting in a professional manner. It is time to get move your email address from high school back to just your highschool friends. No more uenvyme@yahoo.com, sexyprincess@gmail.com, starwarsfreakforever@hotmail.com, and I likedogsbetterthanpeople@aol.com. It is time to refine all of your touches. If you are out there networking and talking to people, why not set up a specific account just for your job search.

While you are looking at you email address why not take a look at all of the places that potential candidates first touch.

How do you answer the phone? Yo, hey, what’s up? I always like to err on the side of caution so if you wonder who the caller is answer with Hello. I talked to a potential candidate yesterday and he answered the phone Yo.

While you are practicing saying hello, when is the last time you listened to your voicemail message. Listen now and think about how it portray’s you. I recently called a friend who is actively looking for a position. My call went to voicemail. I heard a rather lethargic response. ” Hi you have reached “Chuck” I am not able to talk please leave a message and I will get back in touch with you when I can.” When I can? Really. Try something more professional. You can do it!

I hope I didn’t hurt any feelings but as your friend and hopeful recruiting professional I only want you to present yourself in the best manner possible.

Good luck.

6 thoughts on “What your friends and mom won’t tell you? Part 1

  1. Well-said Matt! “What Color is your parachute” recommends that people in transition say on their answering machine message what type of job/company they’re looking for so that people can help them. Do you agree with that?

    Also, some of those email addresses are pretty unprofessional (and funny). Do you think that “bongtoker332@hotmail.com” is acceptable?

    😉

    • I would not use my answering message to show anything other than a professional message. No need to pigeon hole yourself. Some email addresses are great but do not help, don’t muddy the waters.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

